Rocket City Countdown

I knew yesterday when I had to bail on the bonk of an attempt at 8x1000m workout, that today, I’d get some redemption.  Made it barely 1.5 miles into my warmup and had to stop and walk back to the car.  I was OK with it.  I’ve really hammered it this week with the tempo runs and ramped the miles back up and ran a 38:11 10K on November 12.  This marathon training and this new 2 weeks on, 1 week off cycle that I’ve given a go this Fall is really starting to pay off.  I had a complete bonk a few weeks ago of the same sort, and was pretty disgusted by it.  But yesterday, I knew what happened the last time.  The next day, I had a tremendous tempo progression run in which I ran in 46 minutes, not flying, but finishing with a 6:19 and a 6:12.  So, I knew today, I could have a productive 20 miler.  Got a late start, light drizzle.  Hate drizzle on long runs because the water weighs me down and I beat myself up.  But it quit raining a mile in.  But today, the legs started out quite tight and cramped.  But this is the same thing that happened to me at the Blues At The Crossroads Half Marathon.  I gave myself the first 4 miles to work it out, and I did, and was able to assume a “comfortable” pace.  Temp was pretty decent, 43 and misty.  So this turned into a really solid run, caught my gatorade at my two spots I planted it and I never did hit the wall.  Matter of fact, I went ahead and added another mile to it to make it 21 in 2:35:37.  Legs were getting tired, but really could’ve gone under 3:15 for a full marathon today.  Highly encouraging.  With this marathon training, the legs have been all over the place with feeling great and feeling dead.  I missed out on a chance to run with Frank Shorter today, but this run really did it for me today.  Tomorrow, I’ll go watch the NCAA Division I championships and see if Wisconsin can give Stanford a run for its money.  And with Sammy Chelenga and Sally Kipyego gone, I have no idea who is the favorite!

Depending on how the legs fare with recovering from today’s run, I’ll race on Thanksgiving, a 4.5 mile sprint of a race in Indy.  A little less than three weeks to go now, hard part is pretty much over.  A mile repeat workout, some 800m repeat workouts and a few more 90 minute runs and that’s it.  Really thinking I’m in 3:10 shape right now. I’d like to hit 3:00, but 6:53 pace is just too quick at this point.

Gotta check out the Philly Marathon results and the Fukuoka Marathon results!

Link to today’s 21 miles: http://fitness.strands.com/dutterman/posts/26357667

About dutterman

Live and work in Terre Haute. Married to Mariah who I met my sophomore year at Rose-Hulman in 1988. We have two children Kourtney 17 and Austin 13. I've been a competitive runner since 1982.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

