Rocket City Aborted at T-Minus 4 Days

November 20th I went out and did my last long run before the Rocket City Marathon.  The previous day, Saturday was supposed to be 5-8x1000m on the trails at Hawthorn Park.  I got a mere 1.5 miles into my warmup and the legs were so dead, I had to turn around and walk back to the car and head home.  So Sunday, I knew the legs would be a little fresh.

I wanted to see if I could run a bulk of my 20 miler at marathon pace.  Started out easy with the legs burning the first 4 miles (8:03, 7:44,8:08,8:08)  I was able to work that out and drop the pace down and went through 10 miles in 1:17:15.  Continued picking up until miles 14 & 15 where I hit 6:52 and 6:53 pace.  I was at 3:00 pace!  Of course, I knew I wasn’t in 3:00 shape…  I was able to keep the pace up and finished with a 7:18 and a 7:11 to get in 21 miles in 2:35:37.  I was pretty pumped.  Just 3 weeks to go and a 3:10 marathon was in my reach.

The next day was a cold and misty day, and I headed out of work early for lunch to catch the NCAA meet.  When I was running from my car up to the CC course, I felt the pain under my achilles going up the hill.  I knew right away what it was.  It was retrocalcaneal bursitis…  I had it 3 years earlier following a marathon.  At that point I was remembering my right foot sliding in my rain-soaked shoes from 18 miles on not knowing I was straining things… 

I ran on a couple of occasions and did the Octane each day.  The Octane doesn’t aggravate it at all.  I then went to do a 13 mile test run on a somewhat hilly course on November 27th.  Pretty much had sharp pain the whole way and finished in 1:36.  There would be no way I’d be able to even taper for the next two weeks leading up to the race.  I did the Octane every day all the way up until today.  Yesterday I decided there was no way I was going to run 26.2 miles on two weeks of no running.  Even if the bursitis was completely healed by that time, I’d be lucky to make it 3 miles first time out in two weeks.

So, now I’m looking at maintaining fitness over the next few weeks and resume training in another 2 weeks.  New goals set in place.  The marathon will have to wait until Spring or even Fall.  Pretty disappointed as I got in my first ever 100+ mile week en route to a 355 mile month of October.  It’s amazing how fast things can go from great, to not running at all.

2011 was a record year for me in number of DNS!  I even had a complimentary entry to Papa John’s 10 Miler in March that I had to DNS…

But, I’ll be back!

About dutterman

Live and work in Terre Haute. Married to Mariah who I met my sophomore year at Rose-Hulman in 1988. We have two children Kourtney 17 and Austin 13. I've been a competitive runner since 1982.
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

