Dust Settling

Yet another bump in the road with the running.  Seems to be the norm anymore.  Just have to figure out how to get the most of myself without breaking anything…  So after the breakthrough run I had on Wednesday of hauling ass for 6.5 miles and feeling like a runner again, the achilles decides to flare up once again to sit me down for …who knows how long…  So, I took yesterday and today completely off of everything.  No Octane, no walking, nothing.  Not to give the body a break, but just a form of protest – a waiting period – a pity period, for me to chalk it up and regain this go-back-to-the-basics approach and start from there…  If I want to be able to run at all, I’ll have to adopt this approach, at least for the time being.  It’s funny, it’s like having all of this experience and trying to use these philosophies as if I’m training a 20 year old athlete….  The rules have changed.  It’s a new game.  Just gotta learn the rules and how to play by them.  It’s always been about learning what is most effective — what works.  Apparrantly I haven’t learned as of yet with this tolerant body of mine, thus the challenge continues.  Think I’m gonna be watching me some Rocky this weekend.

About dutterman

Live and work in Terre Haute. Married to Mariah who I met my sophomore year at Rose-Hulman in 1988. We have two children Kourtney 17 and Austin 13. I've been a competitive runner since 1982.
This entry was posted in Running, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

