Concession

“It is what it is”.  Not for me.  Fuck that…  Conceding defeat, accepting things as they are?  I’ll never be content with being content.  Question everything, dig as deep as you can, make a difference, make waves, provoke action.  Huddling and just observing without a care is not good enough for me.  While I may live in torment, I die knowing I tried every piece of the puzzle and turned over every rock.  See things only my way?  Why?  Look at things through everyone’s eyes and discover beauty you may have not otherwise seen.  Take it all in, take the deepest breath you can, smell every flower.  Don’t fear pain, don’t fear success, don’t fear failure.  Don’t sit there waiting for your number to come up, you’ll die waiting.  I may not put a very big dent in this world, but you can bet I’ll be beating the crap out of this existence.

About dutterman

Live and work in Terre Haute. Married to Mariah who I met my sophomore year at Rose-Hulman in 1988. We have two children Kourtney 17 and Austin 13. I've been a competitive runner since 1982.
This entry was posted in Ranting, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

