Happy New Year from Dutterman

About 5 years ago now, Jeff Andrew introduced me to Vox, a blog by the sixapart company.  I had never blogged before.  I really got into it for about a year, and just sort of fell off.  I have met some “virtual” friends that I have since become friends with via Facebook and some others.  It would be interesting to meet some of these friends in real life.  I had that opportunity a few years ago with a friend of one of my running blogs.  I got to meet him in person at a race.  Pretty cool.  So, I’m going to try to start blogging again and try to post things at least once a week.  We’ll see!

 

Got some goals for this year.  Obviously, I have some running goals, to get and stay healthy and actually run some races this year.  I would really like to try a triathlon this year too.  I also want to continue to discover new bands as I hope to make it to Lollapalooza again this year.  I hope to continue to be an objective resource for advice for my kids.  I really want to try to read more and become much more informed on the world around me.  I grew up in Europe and was always quite aware of things going on as my dad was in the military.  Not to say that I’ve buried my head in the sand, but I could do yet better to be better informed.  I follow a handful of blogs and some bands and otherwise artists who are incredibly talented.  I was so disappointed in the MTV New Years program, the MTV genre of music just really doesn’t appeal to me.  Thank goodness for different means of discovering new artists and groups nowadays!  Also going to really try to reduce the amount of anxiety I have.  I don’t like to “label” things, but I’ve got something called Dermatillomania that I’ve had going back to at least the 6th grade.  It has gotten particularly bad in recent months.

Going to subscribe to some sort of online backup service too.  Recently we lost all the contents of my laptop, which contained all of our photos and videos of our summer vacation out west.  Thankfully, we had a lot of it synced with drop box, but we still lost a lot…

Really looking forward to the Australian Open and the USA Marathon Olympic Trials coming up in the next few weeks.  Really pumped for the Olympics!

About dutterman

Live and work in Terre Haute. Married to Mariah who I met my sophomore year at Rose-Hulman in 1988. We have two children Kourtney 17 and Austin 13. I've been a competitive runner since 1982.
This entry was posted in Music Stuff, Ranting, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy New Year from Dutterman

  1. mizunogirl says:

    Yaaaay Dutterman is back here on WP. I am excited. It was Vox that allowed me to “meet” you and JeffAndrew. You were one of the very first “real” runners I had come across in the blog world. One who didn’t just run for the medal at the end, or for destination races etc. I have so appreciated all of the advice you have shared with me as I have struggled to run over the past several years. I also can not wait for the Olympic trials, though I do wish Sara Raschiatore were going to be running….

  2. dutterman says:

    Hey thanks Mizunogirl :). It was your post on your wrist surgery that drew me to your blog in the Vox days. I got a lot out of that! Thanks for all the encouragement and support.

Leave a Reply

