Suck It Up!

OK, so today was a pretty sucky day.  Started out by not getting up this am to do my workout.  Work was kinda tough today, trying to make some progress on a project.  Went home for lunch and skipped the workout again.  Ate a sandwich and took a quick power nap.  Piriformis has been bothering me all day, so I was getting very discouraged.  It feels as if there has been no progress whatsoever.  I had this same thing 15 years ago, and it took an entire year to get over it…  So, tonight, I was hardly motivated to do the Octane, but I made it an hour plus.  Still in good cardio shape, but still slowly putting weight on…  That in itself pushes back the timetable for racing.

Because I’ve had this injury before, I know what to do for it.  It’s not quite so much an injury as it is a compounding syndrome.  The sciatic nerve gets irritated, which reflexively causes the piriformis muscle to clamp down to help protect the nerve, only to compound the problem.  Eventually a very hard to reach trigger point puts the whole muscle in constant spasm, hence the constant soreness and strain.  So, there is a fine line of stretching it too little and stretching it too much, overworking it too much, etc…  So, just gotta be careful with it.

About dutterman

Live and work in Terre Haute. Married to Mariah who I met my sophomore year at Rose-Hulman in 1988. We have two children Kourtney 17 and Austin 13. I've been a competitive runner since 1982.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

