Golden Gate Bridge

One of my most memorable moments growing up in High School was the lighting of the Golden Gate Bridge on May 24, 1987 in celebration of the 50th Anniversary.  I remember “running” from Fisherman’s Wharf to the Marina, dodging tourists and residents all along the path through countless clouds of pot smoke and the glow of flickering campfires on the beach.  I could see across the bay where people were also gathered along the shoreline to witness this and the fireworks barge in the water.  Earlier in the day, over 300,000 people participated in the Bridge Walk.

The whole time I was running, I had the song “Lakeside Park” by Rush running through my head the whole time.  This verse from that song fit the occasion perfectly:

Everyone would gather on the 24th of May

Sitting in the sand to watch the fireworks display

Dancing fires on the beach, singing songs together

Though it’s just a memory, some memories last forever.

http://goldengatebridge.org/research/anniversaries.php#fifty

 

About dutterman

Live and work in Terre Haute. Married to Mariah who I met my sophomore year at Rose-Hulman in 1988. We have two children Kourtney 17 and Austin 13. I've been a competitive runner since 1982.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

