Borrowed

Today I ran with the Trained in Terre Haute running group, training for the Indy Mini in the first week of May.  Today, was a test, to see where I am, really.  Coming off of injury and learning how to still train with 42 year old legs that are doing more than just asking for some fair treatment after 30 years of running.  After the first half mile today, I was by myself.  I could have slowed down and let the next group catch up to me, and I could have cruised and chatted for the next hour.  But today, I really needed to see where things were.    While I’m still dealing with some of the effects of piriformis syndrome and posterior tibial tendonitis, “I am running”.  Had a rather strong run today, with still much room for improvement.  The fitness level is getting there and I’m almost to the point of being able to “train” now and stick to a schedule.  So, on my run today, like a lot of days, I had a lot of time to think.  Thinking about me, out on the roads and soaking in the morning air and the offerings of the land.  The animals out and about doing morning errands as they always have, and always will.  You reflect on the short time you have in which the earth lends to you, you borrow, to do with it what you will.  To exploit it, or to return favor, or relinquish some of the survival-induced selfishness and pervade to others so all may best benefit.  You think about those you inspire you, those who actually make our world go around and keep it going and helping to save us from our selfish and corrupt needs and greed.

It got me thinking more today about the release of the 40th anniversary of the Jethro Tull album “Aqualung” which I grew up listening to countless times.  The first half of the album, a mere observation of the way things are.  The second half, a statement on organized religion.  I’m thinking about the basics of survival while on a run and the beautiful yet wicked natural world.  And the words resonate to me in the creepy intro of the song “My God” on that album.  “People what have you done?”

Are we setting up camp to leech off the land on our borrowed time in self-interest?  Or are we more part of a movement in which we are obligated to follow or contribute?  For some of us, do we become weak-willed instructed robots led by the codings of our wiser predecessors?  Or do we challenge these so-called solutions to the world and ever evolve into a better solution?  Do we tear down the walls and push further?  Or do we concede to the wisdom of those before?  If we all become puppets to a predetermined plot, do we have any purpose at all?

We’re all on borrowed time, and the earth is borrowed.  Don’t exploit it, use it, but don’t abuse it.   Seek to question or seek to answer, but don’t abuse and manipulate out of selfish greed.  That is barbaric survival.  We are better than that.  We are beyond that.  Avoid the temptation to act out of primitive instinct and hoard for just yourself.  Don’t leave behind a destructive mark of your struggle for survival.  You WILL be gone some day.

About dutterman

Live and work in Terre Haute. Married to Mariah who I met my sophomore year at Rose-Hulman in 1988. We have two children Kourtney 17 and Austin 13. I've been a competitive runner since 1982.
This entry was posted in Ranting, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

