Gratitudiness Attitudeness.

The time of reflection for the year, as December brings the reminding of the cold winter ahead.  To be primarily be confined indoors for the next 3 months as everything has folded shop.  This year was very rewarding, in the things that I’ve done, the places I’ve been and the people I have met.  I don’t know where to begin.  I overcame yet another injury with my running and started training in February.  I was able to train with some great people with the Wabash Valley Road Runner’s “Trained In Terre Haute” Mini-Marathon program.  I had a relatively successful Indy Mini despite the really warm temperatures on race day.  This past winter was quite strange as we ran in 80-85 degree temperatures for most of March.

2012 Highlights!

My daughter Kourtney graduated from high school and started her freshman year at Indiana State University.  Very proud of her accomplishments and her work ethic toward her goals.

My son Austin performed in his first musical.  This was a big step for him, and took a lot of courage.  I was very proud to see him in Terre Haute North Vigo HS’s musical “Bye, Bye Birdie”.  He also performed a partial solo in the annual Christmas Program.

Meeting a former high school classmate Wendy Anderson in Chicago in February.  This was such an amazing reunion.  It was so much fun to catch up.  I hadn’t seen Wendy since December 1986.  She was a very influential person on me growing up.  One of the first people I ever knew at Fort Knox.  Also met Grant Matolla (went to school with him and his sister at FKHS).  This mini-reunion day was also the day Whitney Houston died.  Mariah and I were listening to the radio on the way back when we heard the news.  I also got a speeding ticket on the way up there.  68 in a 55.  Had to take defensive driving after that.

My 25th High School Reunion for Fort Knox.

This was a totally amazing feat.  I had moved from Fort Knox to Japan on December 28, 1986 in the middle of my senior year.  We ended up moving again in April 1987 from Japan to San Francisco.  I graduated with 684 people, very few of which I knew.  So when we had this reunion, I was very grateful.  As a military brat, you grow up your entire life learning to make new friends, and at the same time, learning to say goodbye to dear friends for good.  Our reunion managed to attract 84 people from classes 1979 through 1991, including 5 former teachers — not bad for a small high school.  The best three days I had in a long time.

Lollapalooza.  What can I say?  Third year for us going, second year going all three days.  Saw some really cool bands.  Black Sabbath, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Metric, Die Antwoord, Band Of Skulls were the highlights for me.  This is like a mini Mecca for me that gives me faith in humanity again.  270,000 people over three days all there to have a good time and get along with one another.  So many memories.  Can’t wait to go again in 2013!

Mariah’s Gastric Bypass surgery.  This was a long time in the making.  Lots of jumping through hoops to make it happen, years of struggle leading up to it.  We managed to detect Kourtney’s thyroid problem soon enough that we got her on Synthroid after gaining an unexplained 22 pounds in 4 weeks.  Unfortunately, we didn’t detect Mariah’s thyroid problems until just a few years ago.

Queen Caveat show three times.  Got the opportunity to see this band three times on their first national tour with Hunter Valentine.  I first got to see them live in The Viper Room October 1, 2011.  This is a great live band.  Saw them in Bloomington on October 6, St. Louis November 12, and Louisville November 14.  Really looking forward to an opportunity to see them again in 2013!

Looking to do many more things in 2013.  Be the best people we can be, and be our best toward others.

About dutterman

Live and work in Terre Haute. Married to Mariah who I met my sophomore year at Rose-Hulman in 1988. We have two children Kourtney 17 and Austin 13. I've been a competitive runner since 1982.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

